From 1st January 2021 onwards, UK nationals will no longer be entitled to the right of free movement within the Schengen Area – even if they are protected by the Withdrawal Agreement.  

However, UK nationals will be able to travel to other Schengen Area countries without a visa for up to ninety (90) days in a period of one-hundred and eighty (180).

In order to stay for more than ninety (90) days in one-hundred and eighty (180) days, to work, to study or do business in a Schengen Area country, UK nationals must comply with the requirements established by each country. In some cases, it might be necessary to apply for a visa or residence permit.

Please note that from 1st January 2021 onwards, UK nationals, residents and non-residents, can no longer use EU passport lanes or e-gates at the airport. UK nationals can use the corridors reserved for non-EU citizens/All passports.


For more information on passports and entry requirements, please check the Living in Portugal Guidance – Passports and Travel

Here you can find a calculator that allows UK nationals to count how many days they can stay in the Schengen area.